Me and Bing and Bowie … just trying to “drum up” a little Christmas spirit …

22 12 2010

You know, me and Bing and Bowie are tight, the best of friends. Bing Crosby and David Bowie don’t know that, but it’s true. I never really understood why ’til this Christmas season. And now, you poor things, I’m going to explain it to you.

This is a link to youtube, the video may not be viewable here.

I’m no spring chicken

I’m old and set in my ways – well, I feel that way a lot of the time. I like things a certain way, it makes my life easier. I like to do things myself rather than have others do things for me. I like certain things – I dislike substitutes.

And I like things in my kitchen to go in certain places. Oddly enough I can leave my kitchen in a mess, that’s okay – a work in progress – sort of. But when I clean up, I do it right, things go in the right place. So when people start helping me in my kitchen I cringe. I seethe with anxiety knowing that I’ll spend great quantities of time looking for things that have been put in the wrong places. I think that qualifies as set in my ways.

So I relate to Bing Crosby, he seemed like a steady kinda’ guy, eh? And he could certainly be considered set in his ways.

But I’m not that old …

Being an ADHDer means I’m also capable of spontaneity. I can be irreverent, irrelevant and impertinent. I’m hyperactive, especially Under Pressure. I am, at heart, a Young American. Well, I’m Canadian, so make that a Young north-American. I have been a fan of David Bowie for so many years that the culture that has grown up around him is a part of my life. He’s not the only musician of my era that has had an effect on me, but he is undeniably one of the ones whose absence would cause a difference in my character. How does one not associate with that kind of influence? So I do relate to David Bowie also.

This would seem to be a contradiction, but no greater a contradiction then the one that was my life ‘til recently. I had been thinking of myself as a laid-back, happy-go-lucky kind of guy. Much of the time I was.

But ADHD is context driven and neither the context nor the ADHD is ever in remission, even if we’re unaware, undiagnosed. I now look back at things that happened with open eyes. The regrets pile up like stacked firewood for winter. And the fire they feed is my determination to make this life better.

So here it is, Christmas 2010. And here I am trying to reconcile so many seemingly conflicting issues. But I’m given hope by the video you see at the beginning of this post. If “White Christmas meets Ziggy Stardust” can work then so can my life. Lets all embrace the contradictions that make up our worlds, lets wear them like our favourite hockey team jersey, lets be proud of ourselves – but lets keep looking for ways to make our lives and ourselves better, ‘kay?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

