Fry-ed ADHD Twit(terer, ahh tweeterer? whatever …)

1 12 2010

Okay, confession time, I love British sitcoms. Not all of them, but too many of them to list here.

Why is this a confession?

Well, I hate TV! Okay, I hate what TV does to me. Thanks to my ADHD I find myself regaining consciousness, when the box snaps off, vague and hazy memories of staring vacantly and vacuously comatose at a screen that’s grabbed my attention. Collecting psuedo-info and storing it nowhere, wasting minutes and hours thinking I’m accomplishing lots, I learn nothing. My mind doesn’t know that. It’s been tricked, hoodwinked, hornswoggled. Damn the cursed box. Damn it all to hell.

So, I don’t like many shows

The shows I like often share the same actors, brilliant thespians appearing in several titles. Stephen Fry, for instance, shows up in a variety show called “A bit of Fry and Laurie”, as well as Rowan Atkinson’s “Black Adder” and the amazingly hilarious “Wooster and Jeeves”. Hugh Laurie of American TV’s “House” fame is the Laurie mentioned in the first title and also appeared in “Black Adder”. Other titles and other actors are mixed together incestuously so that a conversation about any single Brit-com will undoubtedly lead to talk of 10 or 20 more.

Laughter across the ‘pond’

It would seem that Brit-com actors are a community of lunacy bent on the single purpose of having us laugh continuously. I’d be willing to let them if only I didn’t have other things to do with my life. I try to limit their influence on me.

This may be the real confession

I have, however, started following @stephenfry on Twitter. I did this because I caught a few of his tweets and found them to be mostly quite entertaining.

 

Why was I checking out Stephen Fry’s tweets? An acquaintance of mine said she thought he was dead. I thought that a little odd. I’d heard nothing about him dying. I checked it out.

I’ve probably exchanged the TV for the computer

I came across a web site, I don’t remember which one, that talked about Mr. Fry in present tense. To lazy to view the page source for a “last modified” date I scrolled down the page in open-mouthed hyperfocus and found a frame with the curious title of “Fry’s Tweets” or something of that nature. I didn’t pay any attention to the dates on them, I didn’t have to. Right before my very eyes … the frame updated itself with Fry’s latest utterance. I suddenly felt attached, I clicked the link at the top of this frame and found myself at @stephenfry!

And what has any of this got to do with you?

Well, nothing really, I’m actually bragging about myself a bit today. It seems that Stephen Fry has reached a milestone. He now has two million followers on Twitter. And I am one of them. Without me he would have … one less, he would have reached 2,000,000 a second or so later.

 

But he didn’t have to wait that fraction of time, I was there for him. And the two millionth follower? Because of me, he has experienced his 15 minutes of fame. If not for me, it would have been the next follower that was showered with accolades from the enthusiastic Stephen Fry. I’m going to go pat my back now. Fry would do it for me I’m sure, but I’m not within arms reach.

 

 

 

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

