Fame is fortune where I come from!

25 10 2010

One more famous ADHDer for the list … me!

I’ve read recently that if you’re an ADHDer you’re not likely going to be rich and famous. I’ve also read that that’s no reason to stop trying. Admittedly I’m not rich, and it’s not in my foreseeable future, but I know how to be famous.

Yes, of course, there’s such occupations as bank robber and serial killer. That will get you famous. And I could always go over Niagara Falls in a beach ball, but I’d prefer to enjoy my fame alive and not in jail.

A little history

I grew up in a village where the average age and the population were both in the low seventies. A crossroads in the middle of farm country. It was two streets lined with houses filled with retired farm couples, many of whom were related to me.

Thirty years have passed since I left. Many of the residents that waved and smiled at me as I rode my bicycle hard through town on the way to the next important discovery in my childhood have passed as well. But names echo down those streets and newcomers talk to those who remember, and I am among the remembered.

Who says you can’t go home?

This weekend past, I returned once again to the village of my youth to compete in an annual event. The Kemble Harvest Blowout is the home of the Canadian National Pumpkin Chuckin competition.

While assembling a trebuchet, catapult or air canon appeals to my challenge driven mind, my recently revamped “reality check” mechanism immediately echos its favourite new phrase … “Ya, right!” I settled, for the second year running, on the Spud Gun competition. And for the second year running, I walked away laughing, and dead last in the standings.

So how did I become Famous in my small town?

Well, to some extent, I already was, like a popular country song says: “Everyone dies famous in a small town.” But I wasn’t really keen on being famous just as a native son with a seven generation pedigree.

Despite evidence to the contrary found in this blog, I am a writer. And so, I took it upon myself to write an article about the Kemble Harvest Blowout, and get it published. I succeeded.

The magazine that published the piece, Escarpment Views, is available for free or by subscription. It flew out of the Kemble Post Office. People I grew up with went out of their way to tell me they liked the article. People I don’t really know were calling me by name. Wow!

Results are everything

And me? I was walking around the Kemble Harvest Blowout with the best view of everything … I was four feet off the ground.

I can’t say for sure, but I’m willing to bet that this fame is better than being known far and wide. They know me back home. And they seem to be proud of me. That’s better than good enough for an ADHDer who wanted to be famous.

They know me back home, and that’s okay!

Actions

Information

One response

18 11 2010
Gloria Hildebrandt

Kelly, your Blowout article has been noticed far beyond the Kemble area. We’ve had several men all along the Niagara Escarpment, tell us how interested they were in your piece. Not so many women, as you will understand! But we are proud that we appeal to men as well as women, and to kids and teens as well as grandparents. Your article provided fascinating reading and viewing for all ages. Thanks for sharing your experience of how well the magazine has been received! We look forward to more of your features in the future.

Leave a Reply

