You gotta have faith …

23 08 2010
Warning: Taylor McKinlay’s opinions are not necessarily those of the management or anyone else, living or dead, or who has ever drawn breath. If he offends anyone here today, I am truly sorry, but I have so very little control of him.

A rose by any other name …

As children, we see groups of words as having the same meaning. As we mature, we become aware of subtle differences in the meanings of those words, differences that influence our choices when selecting words for conversation and writing. Circle, ball and sphere become individual words where before they all meant something that was round.

A few weeks ago, in a thoughtful state of mind, I posted, on facebook, the opinion that “Faith is an art form, religion is an industry.” It was a thought that I had had while pondering the history of war in the world. Too much of this history is due to differences in interpretation. The altercations between Judaism and Islamism may well be the result of the perceived difference between the concept of a second wife and a slave or handmaid.

Christianity would be an offshoot of Judaism, taking the history of the holy land from the same scriptures that give us the Torah as the beginning of the bible (old testament) and the stories of Jesus and beyond as the ending (new testament). Yet all three religions teach the value of honour and truth. Why, then, are these faiths the things that people fight and die for? I don’t know.

A good friend of mine who has since passed on, was fond of a saying that went “A man without religion is like a fish without a bicycle.” I would agree. But what about a man without faith?

Another good friend of mine asked my opinion on an idea she had for a possible project. It entailed among other things, the concept of an interchangeable source of information to assist in an approach to self help. This interchangeable source was based on your approach to inner strength, your faith. It was a radical idea because it accepted everyones faith or lack thereof.

From the mouths of babes …

She was attempting to embrace Atheism, Agnosticism, Buddhism and, I assume, Hinduism, Shintoism, etc., etc. along with Christianity, Judaism and Islamism. She wants to see people from these groups use their strengths for a greater good, their own. I know this isn’t what’s meant by “From the mouths of babes …”, but I couldn’t resist.

I think this is a great idea, I look forward to seeing it in action. If it works, and I can’t see why it won’t, I’m going to be proud of having had a ring side seat to watch the project take shape.

As to the difference between faith and religion? Well I’ve given up trying to find a fish sized bicycle, I’m an Agnostic with a capital “A”, I feel that anyone’s ideas are potentially valid in the face of a complete lack of proof that they aren’t. Even those upstart Christians might have a few valid points, but I’m secretly rooting for the Shintos, that’s a religion worth having, if worth is your primary motivation.

And my friend’s project? I’ll maybe keep you posted.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

