Money isn’t everything …

16 08 2010
inspired by daVISA1

Yes, that’s true, it isn’t everything, there are other things in life: debt, bills, service fees, the list goes on. Okay, in the spirit of the sentiment I’ll admit that there are good things in life that have nothing to do with the filthy lucre. There is poetry, laughter, love, and music …

They don’t grow on trees either …

But, the thing is, if you don’t have money, one day or another, you’re going to say “Money isn’t everything!” and mean it. You’re going to come to the realization that there are things in life that are, if not more important, than at least as important. Family comes to mind, friends, sunsets, the smell of fresh cut grass, church service on Sunday mornings if you’re bent that way, the sound of children playing, the smell of books in the library on rainy days, the sound of a brook, the feel of  … okay, I’m back.

Can it buy opportunity?

But money can relieve some major stress in our lives, leaving us free, or at least freer, to enjoy these other things. In other words, while money can’t buy happiness, if spent wisely it can possibly buy the chance at happiness.

… and you can’t take it with you …

I’ve known people who have worried about “leaving” enough money behind. I’ve always told them, “Spend it! Spend it now and do it fast. Let the next generation look after themselves. They’re making more in a year than you did in your first ten years of working.” I often tell people to pay for their funeral if they’re worried about what they leave behind, but make sure that when you’re out taking care of those arrangements, you go out to lunch to celebrate the occasion.

Having money is not all that great, at least not for me. I’ve got a few bucks set aside for a purchase I’ve been contemplating and it’s taken me two years to commit to this. I haven’t been able to part with the cash. I keep thinking, once it’s gone, it’s gone. I suddenly realized that it’s not a real thing. It isn’t a person and it sure as hell isn’t a friend. I’ve lost two years of my life worrying about this and I can’t get them back, so the cash has cost me some time, a piece of my life, and that’s just wrong.

The bottom line is what counts

And the bottom line is this, having money can cause as much grief as not having any. So I’ve resolved to do something about it. This week, I’m blowing it … well, I’m spending it on the thing I’ve been contemplating.

I’m pretty sure that as soon as I do this, the car will need to be replaced or the house will prove to be full of mold spores or my teeth will need to be crowned, but I don’t care. I’m doing this and that’s that.

Can you keep a secret?

I’d tell you what I’m blowing it on, but that might take the magic out of it for you, imagine what you’d do and pretend that I’m doing that. If I had the cash, I’d pay for your adventure too. To bad I’ll soon be broke again. Oh well … you know, money really isn’t everything …

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

