I remember …

12 05 2010

Where were you in ’62?

Quench your thirst for reminiscence.

Quench your thirst for reminiscence.

I don’t remember 1962. Well, only vaguely. I don’t remember Kewpie Dolls. I don’t remember buying orange pop in bottles that had the shape of an orange incorporated into the design although I’ve seen the bottles. Lately, though, I’ve been reminiscing about things I haven’t seen in a while. Lucky Elephant Popcorn in a cardboard box, all day suckers that lasted all day(unless they were dropped), pop costing ten cents to drink in the store, twelve cents to take out. You got the two cents back when you returned the empty bottle and that would buy you a few pieces of Double Bubble chewing gum. A single serving bag of chips was five cents and it was full. Instead of using air to protect the product they used care when handling it. I could go on forever, so could you, so take a minute to stroll through your thoughts and get back here before the next section starts.

Commercials over

Good, you’re back. I was worried you’d miss the T.V. segment. Depending on your age, you’ll remember different shows, but the famous ones transcend time. You’ve heard of them even if they were before your era. Gun Smoke, Have Gun Will Travel, Howdy Doody, Get Smart, The Beverley Hillbillies, Ed Sullivan, Bewitched, the list, again, goes on and on.

Bewitched, bothered and bewildered …

We’ve been watching Bewitched on DVD, the serial, not the movie. I thought they’d be dated and boring. I was half right, they’re not boring. I find myself wishing times were the same as when I first saw them. The thought that a scandal was the replacement of the actor that played Darrin in the middle of a series makes today’s scandals look like Sodom and Gomorrah. (wait, they do look like Sodom and Gomorrah, without the comparison) But, I digress. My point was that these things remind me of a simpler time, and I miss that time.

The bewildered part

I remember when I could ride my horse down the road and not have to worry about people not knowing how to drive around a horse. (Yes I said horse, I’m old, remember) I remember people leaving the kids in the car with the windows down and the keys in the ignition. I remember my fathers car parked out back of where he worked. The keys would be in it all day. I asked him why he didn’t carry the keys with him and he told me “Someone might need it[the car].” Another key thing with my dad was our house. When we went away, he always locked the front door fastidiously. Not the side door though, in fact, there was no lock on the side door. “Why do you lock the front door?” I asked. “So people will know we’re not home.” he said. “But we don’t lock the side door…?” I pointed out. “Someone might need to get in.” he told me.

The bothered part

I lose sleep these days wondering if I’ve locked the doors when I’m home. When I was a kid, our house was wide open day and night, year round. I guess all this reminiscing is my way of saying I’d like to live in that world again. And I’d like to take all of you with me. How much more time would we have for friendship if we weren’t worrying about our safety, our health, our schedules. Okay, maybe we still worried, but going back now would really give us a different perspective on what we had, eh?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

